North Bendigo’s Sean Morris will be a key player for the HDFL against Geelong and District. Photo: Brendan McCarthy.

THE Loddon Valley Football Netball League returns to interleague competition this weekend when it hosts the Golden Rivers league at the QEO.

The LVFNL has endured a two-year absence from interleague, and will re-enter the AFL Victoria Community Championships at the bottom of the rankings.

Anthony Dennis will coach the LVFNL senior team upon its return to representative play.

The team had its final training session last night at the QEO before Saturday’s clash.

The Weekly understands AFL Central Victoria was hopeful of staging the LVFNL and North Central Football League matches as a double-header at the QEO, but the NCFL elected to play its match against Southern Football League at Boort.

The LVFNL will also field an open netball team, to be coached by Carmen Shevlin.

Meanwhile, the Heathcote District Football League will travel to Geelong to take on the Geelong and District Football League.

The two sides met at the QEO in 2012, and will face off at North Geelong tomorrow.

Golden Square premiership coach Nick Carter will coach the HDFL after being an assistant to Dean Laidley last year.

Former Square star Dale Young has been named at full-back, while Ryan Semmel and Tyson Findlay have been named alongside one another in a star-studded on-ball brigade.

Carter has also picked three rucks. Elmore’s Jack Hayes, Colbinabbin’s Hadleigh Sirrett and LBU’s Liam Main, named on a wing. The HDFL plays the GDFL from 2.15 on Saturday.

HDFL squad

Logan Prout (Leitchville Gunbower), Dale Young (Mount Pleasant), Stephen Kairn (Huntly), Aaryn Craig (North Bendigo), Ryan Prendergast (LG), Daniel Hill (Colbinabbin), Liam Main (LBU), Ryan Semmel (Huntly), Tyson Findlay (NB), Nick Knight (Colbinabbin), Jarod Bacon (LBU), Daniel Coates (LG), Sean Morris (NB), Hadleigh Sirett (Colbinabbin), Matt Perri (LG), Jack Hayes (Elmore), Jeremy Mills (NB), Jarrod Findlay (NB), Jack Gleeson (LG), Hoby Bussey (LG), Zeik Johnston (LBU), Rhys Irwin (White Hills), Jordan Waldron (WH), Mitchell McEvoy (Colbinabbin).