The Greater Bendigo City Council has accepted Julie Hoskin’s resignation, effective immediately.


Ms Hoskin emailed her resignation to the Governance Manager on Friday September 21 and her email was forwarded to Mayor Cr Margaret O’Rourke and Chief Executive Officer Craig Niemann, in accordance with Section 68A(1) of the Local Government Act 1989.


Cr O’Rourke said Council had notified the Minister for Local Government and the Victorian Electoral Commission.


“I would like to acknowledge Ms Hoskin’s service to the community, particularly the Whipstick Ward, since her election in 2016,” she said. 


“Ms Hoskin’s position in the Whipstick Ward is now vacant and the Victorian Electoral Commission is expected to conduct a countback.


“The result of the countback is not expected to be known until mid to late October, which will be confirmed by the Victorian Electoral Commission.


“Ms Hoskin’s resignation will not affect the business of Council or the many projects and services underway in the community.”