THIS year will mark a special anniversary for St Liborius Catholic church in Eaglehawk.
On July 29, the church will be celebrating the 150th anniversary of the laying of the foundation stone of St Liborius, one of the oldest churches in the Sandhurst Diocese.
St Liborius church was named by Fr Backhaus, the first Catholic priest on the Bendigo goldfields, after his home parish in Paderborn, Germany.
An article in the Advocate newspaper of June 3, 1876, describes the church as a little gem of ecclesiastical architecture.
A history book is being prepared by local author Aylene Kirkwood OAM and the group reaching out Australia-wide to past parishioners and friends to return for the celebrations.