Kelly WIlson was a catalyst in the Braves’ brilliant season. Photo: Andrew Perryman.

THE Bendigo Braves women have added another honour to their sparkling South East Australian Basketball League season, earning Sports Star of the Year honours for July.

The Braves completed an undefeated regular season on their way to the SEABL finals series, becoming the first Braves team in history to do so.

They then completed the fairytale with a dominant win over Launceston in last weekend’s grand final, 119-96.

Bendigo waltzed through the home and away campaign with ease, winning each of its 20 matches.

Fifteen of the wins came by at least 10 points, with the Braves’ most notable victories coming in their two matches against Albury Wodonga, by 48 and 45 points.

Only Dandenong’s women’s team had previously gone through a SEABL regular season undefeated in the league’s previous seasons.

Led by league all-stars Kelly Wilson and Nadeen Payne and coach of the year Megan Moody, Bendigo completed its perfect regular season when it defeated Frankston and Nunawading in the final round of the home and away campaign.

The Braves then lost their opening final to Launceston, the side they would go on to meet in the decider at the State Basketball Centre.

They rebounded with a home win over Nunawading and an away win against Kilsyth before exacting revenge over the Tornadoes in a high-scoring affair last weekend to cap the season with a title.

The Braves men’s team has also been a sports star nominee in recent years, after their 2016 championship win.

The Braves women join the likes of lawn bowls star Aaron Wilson and golfer Lucas Herbert as Sports Star nominees for 2018.

To nominate and to find out more about the awards, including the Sports Star Scholarship Program, visit